Weatherforce

Weatherforce

An example of successful support

Founded in 2016, Weatherforce is a start-up specialized in providing very local weather indicators.

It has benefited from a series of monitoring, funding and support measures from CNES, Connect by CNES and other partners, which have enabled the fledgling company to become well-established and consolidate its corporate vision. Today, WeatherForce is building on this framework to grow its business and break into international markets.

Co-fondatrice de Weatherforce
Christine David, co-founder of Weatherforce
 

We transform "raw" weather data into useful indicators for our clients. For example, two farmers will be faced with problems (slugs, moths, mildew, etc.) that differ greatly depending on their crops.

The weather is a determining factor in pest development and in the selection of crops adapted to each region, so it is really important to provide professionals with highly localised indicators (rainfall, sunshine, temperatures, etc.) tailored to their own situation.

These data are not always available or easily accessible abroad, which made us aware of the significant business potential.

With this in mind, Pascal and Christine decided to create WeatherForce in 2016, to provide weather and climate services in remote areas and offer indicators reflecting the reality of each kind of local weather, relevant to each particular crop.

Three types of assistance

WeatherForce has been able to benefit from three schemes offered by players in the space sector, designed to support start-ups in their creation and development.

Incubation

First of all, the young start-up was nurtured by the European Space Agency's incubation programme, ESA BIC. This scheme allows project leaders in the space field to benefit from specific support over a two-year period including access to subsidies (up to €50,000), a bank loan (up to €50,000), accommodation in fully-equipped premises and 80 hours of technical support from CNES experts.

Among other things, this incubation programme gave us access to CNES experts, an opportunity not open to everyone. Their help has been invaluable in building and validating our service offer and the technical feasibility of our projects.

SUPPORT

At the same time, WeatherForce benefited from the CNES Business Applications scheme. This programme seeks to encourage the implementation of space-related projects right across the board by facilitating the different stages: emergence of ideas, funding, support, etc.

We worked a lot with Jacques through Business Applications; his help was particularly formative and key for us.

Financement

Lastly, the young company received support via the Space Ticket, a recent scheme set up by CNES and its partners. The Space Ticket is a kind of free pass that makes it easier for the selected start-up to obtain BPI financing under the French Tech Seed Fund and gives access to the Connect by CNES support scheme.

We worked extensively with Véronique on this application. The "recommendation" letter written by CNES is always needed when applying for the scheme.

Descartes Underwriting

Descartes Underwriting

Assurtech

Descartes Underwriting is a fast-growing InsurTech start-up that uses satellite imagery and artificial intelligence…

Read the success story
Groupe d'explorateurs "Les engagés"

WeeSurf

Dare to engage
For the past three years, Connect by CNES has been supporting the group of explorers Les Engagés…

Read the success story

All success stories

Weatherforce
La souriante équipe de WeatherForce ©Weatherforce

Weatherforce

Un exemple d'accompagnement réussi

Créée en 2016, Weatherforce est une start-up spécialisée dans la mise à disposition d’indicateurs météo à forte consonance locale.

La start-up a bénéficié d’une série de mesures de suivi, de financement et de soutien de la part du CNES, de Connect by CNES et d’autres partenaires. Ce circuit de dispositifs a permis à la jeune pousse de s’enraciner et de consolider son projet. Aujourd’hui Weatherforce s’appuie sur ce background pour développer ses activités et attaquer les marchés internationaux.

Co-fondatrice de Weatherforce
Christine David, co-fondatrice de Weatherforce
 

Nous transformons la donnée météo « brute » en indicateurs utiles pour le client et les agricutleurs. La météo est un facteur déterminant dans le développement des nuisibles et dans la sélection des cultures adaptées à chaque territoire. Il est donc important de fournir aux professionnels des indicateurs très localisés (pluviométrie, ensoleillement, températures…), adaptés à leur réalité concrète.

A l’international, ces données ne sont pas toujours disponibles ou faciles d’accès. Nous y avons vu un potentiel business important.

Forts de ce constat, Pascal et Christine ont décidé de créer Weatherforce en 2016, afin fournir des services météorologiques et climatiques dans des régions reculées et de proposer des indicateurs reflétant la réalité de chaque météo locale, pertinents pour chaque culture en particulier. 

Trois axes de soutien

Weatherforce a bénéficié de trois dispositifs émanant d’acteurs du spatial et destinés à soutenir les start-ups dans leurs création et développement.

Incubation

Tout d’abord, la jeune start-up a été incubée ESA BIC, le programme d’incubation de l’Agence Spatiale Européenne. Ce dispositif permet aux porteurs de projet dans le domaine du spatial de bénéficier d’un accompagnement spécifique sur une période de 2 ans incluant des accès à des subventions (jusqu'à 50.000 euros), un prêt bancaire (jusqu'à 50.000 euros), un hébergement dans des locaux équipés et un soutien technique de 80 heures par les experts du CNES.

Cette incubation nous a permis entre autres d’avoir accès aux experts du CNES, ce qui n’est pas toujours évident depuis l’extérieur. Leur aide a été précieuse pour construire et valider notre offre de services et la faisabilité technique de nos projets. 

Accompagnement

En parallèle, Weatherforce a bénéficié du dispositif Pulser du CNES. Ce programme entend encourager la réalisation de projets en lien avec le spatial sur toute la ligne, en facilitant les différentes étapes : émergence d’idées, financement, accompagnement…

Nous avons beaucoup travaillé avec Jacques dans le cadre de Business applications, il a été particulièrement formateur et clé pour nous.

Financement

Enfin, la jeune entreprise a bénéficié du soutien du CNES dans le cadre de Space ticket, un dispositif récent mis en place par le CNES et ses partenaires. Le Space ticket est une sorte de « laisser passer » qui facilite pour la start-up sélectionnée l’obtention d’un financement BPI dans le cadre du fonds French Tech Seed et donne accès au dispositif d’accompagnement Connect By CNES.

Véronique nous a énormément aidé dans ce dossier. La lettre « de recommandation » rédigée par le CNES est indispensable pour postuler au dispositif.

TIMM - Télé Imagerie Médicale Mobile

AdEchoTech

Télémédecine

AdEchoTech a été la première entreprise à mettre sur le marché une solution de télé-échographie robotisée. L'expert…

Lire la success story
Equipe Descartes Underwriting

Descartes Underwriting

Assurtech

Descartes Underwriting est une start-up InsurTech en forte croissance qui utilise l'imagerie satellite et l…

Lire la success story
Groupe d'explorateurs "Les engagés"

WeeSurf

Groupe d'explorateurs

Oser s'engager
Connect by CNES accompagne le groupe d’explorateurs « Les Engagés » depuis maintenant 3 ans.

Lire la success story

Toutes les success stories